## CORTE PERMANENTE DE ARBITRAJE



## PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

Ms. Ana Katuska Drouet
Mr. Jorge Costain
Ms. Susana Villacis
Ms. Ana Alvarez
Ministerio de Acuacultura y Pesca
Puerto Pesquero Artesanal de San Mateo
Manta
Ecuador

Mr. Osvaldo Urrutia Dr. Johanne Fischer South Pacific Regional Fisheries Management Organisation Level 26, Plimmer Towers 2-6 Gilmer Terrace PO Box 3797 Wellington 6140 New Zealand

BY E-MAIL: KATUSKA,DROUET@ACUACULTURAYPESCA.GOB.EC JORGE.COSTAIN@ACUACULTURAYPESCA.GOB.EC SUSANA.VILLACIS@ACUACULTURAYPESCA.GOB.EC ANA,ALVAREZ@ACUACULTURAYPESCA.GOB.EC

BY E-MAIL: OURRUTIA@SUBPESCA.CL JFISCHER@SPRFMO.INT SECRETARIAT@SPRFMO.INT

AG 230760 DIRECT DIAL: +31 70 302 4140 E-MAIL: MDOE@PCA-CPA.ORG 7 May 2018

RE:

PCA CASE N $^\circ$  2018-13 — REVIEW PANEL ESTABLISHED UNDER ARTICLE 17 AND ANNEX II OF THE CONVENTION ON THE CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT OF HIGH SEAS FISHERY RESOURCES IN THE SOUTH PACIFIC OCEAN

Dear Mesdames, Dear Sirs.

I write on behalf of the Review Panel in relation to the hearing to be held in the above-referenced matter.

In accordance with the Review Panel's Procedural Directive No. 1, the Republic of Ecuador, the Organisation, and those Commission Members that have submitted written memoranda in accordance with the Procedural Timetable and request an opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be permitted to make oral submissions at the hearing. Each of the foregoing will be allocated a fixed amount of time to make oral presentations to the Review Panel. A hearing schedule will be circulated prior to the hearing. Commission Members not having submitted written memoranda in accordance with the Procedural Timetable shall be permitted to attend the hearing but shall not be permitted to make oral submissions.

With respect to oral presentations and attendance by Commission Members at the hearing, the Review Panel directs as follows:

- 1. All speakers are invited to concentrate their oral submissions on the main points of disagreement arising from the Objection and the written memoranda submitted, including from those Commission Members that have not requested an opportunity to be heard at the hearing. In that vein, speakers are invited to avoid repeating orally what they have already submitted in writing.
- 2. For the purpose of oral presentations, the hearing room will be equipped with PowerPoint projection facilities and a wireless internet connection. IT support will also be available to participants throughout the day.
- 3. Simultaneous English/Spanish interpretation will be available for all participants at the hearing.

- 4. Real-time transcription of the hearing by a court reporter will be available at the hearing (in English only). Real-time transcription screens will be provided to delegations making oral presentations. The hearing transcript as well as the audio recording of the hearing will be uploaded to a PCA extranet site accessible by all participants promptly following the hearing.
- 5. Those delegations making oral presentations at the hearing will also be allocated break-out rooms in the Peace Palace equipped with a laptop, a small printer, and a wireless internet connection. Catering for these delegations will also be served in their respective break-out rooms.
- 6. For the purposes of security at the Peace Palace, the PCA kindly requests that the names of all individuals who will attend the hearing be communicated to it by no later than <u>Thursday</u>, <u>17 May 2018</u>. It is also kindly requested that the PCA be informed of any dietary restrictions of those members of delegations making oral presentations at the hearing.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at the details set forth above or my colleague Ms. Helen Brown (tel: +31 70 302 4196, e-mail: hbrown@pca-cpa.org) should you have any questions regarding this letter.

Yours sincerely,

MC-0

Martin Doe

Senior Legal Counsel

cc: Review Panel

Prof. Don MacKay (by e-mail: don\_maria\_mackay@msn.com)

Prof. Erik J. Molenaar (by e-mail: e.j.molenaar@uu.nl)

Ms. Cecilia Engler (by e-mail: mcengler@dal.ca)

All Other Commission Members and Cooperating non-Contracting Parties